Settled Enough

It has been a goal of mine to start a new blog once I was settled.  If by “settled” we mean called to a new congregation in a settled position, I guess we can say I’m there – especially after last week’s wonderful installation celebration.  However, if by “settled” we mean, fully settled into my new position and home and community, well, that could take a while.

So, since I’ve been living in Orlando for 3 months and serving First Unitarian Church for 2 months, I think I will declare myself “settled enough.”

My goal will be to post 1-3 times a week on various topics – follow up thoughts to last week’s sermon – musing over next week’s sermon – reflections on current social issues.  We’ll see.

For now, I’ll just say that I think choosing a title for the blog was a stumbling block.  At the installation ceremony, my friend and mentor, Rev. Deb reminded me that my sabbatical blog was called “On the Journey” (link below) reflecting a time of travel and exploration in my life.   This reminder caused me to reflect on what is happening in my life right now, which is establishing myself in a new place and putting down roots.   This is an important change both physically and spiritually but it does not mean that the adventure, change, and growth is over.  With that realization the title emerged as “Growing in Place.”  So, now that that hurdles is over… let the blogging begin.

Note for the curious: My sabbatical blog, covering my travels in India in 2006, can be found at: kathyonthejourney.blogspot.com

This entry was posted in 1U congregation, Life's Challenges. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Settled Enough

  1. Michelle says:

    I love the title! Looking forward to settling in for more growth with you 🙂

  2. Dear Reverend Kathy,

    Welcome (back) to the wonderful world of Blogging!

    Like Michelle, I too am looking forward to settling in for growth and evolution with you at 1st U and on here!

    Peace, and Blessed Be,

    Geoffrey Stewart / Pax

  3. Martha H-C says:

    I’ve got your blog bookmarked! Looking forward to reading more. Miss you…

  4. Dave S says:

    Great to see that you are blogging. I’m looking forward to reading what you have to say.

Leave a Reply

