Becoming an Ancestor

I’ve been thinking a lot about ancestors in advance of this coming Sunday’s service on Samhain, the Pagan New Year.  Ancestors figure heavily into the season as it is the time of the year when it is believed that the veil that separates our world from theirs is the thinnest.

I’ve thought plenty about my ancestors.  However, until today, I never really thought about the fact that I will be someone else’s ancestor.   I found myself thinking about it, because we spent the day with our first, and at the moment only, grandchild.  Kai is 2 ½ years old.  We hadn’t seen him since he really began to talk.  His unique personality is definitely beginning to show itself.  He is no longer simply just a baby.  He expresses preferences and has moments of willfulness that are all his own.  And yet, I could also see his ancestors shining through.  He gets really focused on things in a way his mother, our daughter, Pam, did not at that age.  But when I watch him focus, sometimes I see his aunt, our other daughter.  Kai hasn’t seen his Aunt Riky in a long time, so it can’t be nurture.  But there is definitely a bit of her in there.

So I wonder, when we think about our ancestors, how much of their influence is genetic; how much is cultural; how much is a result of their unique personality?  And then I wonder, just what is it that makes me who I am?  How much of who I am is truly unique?  How many of my choices are really my own?  How much am I a part of an intricate web reaching into the distant past and, I hope, also into a future I will never know?

This entry was posted in Life's Challenges, Theology. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Becoming an Ancestor

  1. tlh215 says:

    If I may make a correction for other readers – Samhain is the Celtic New Year. Many pagans, depending upon their tradition, do not observe something called “Samhain” in their calendar of holy tides at all. Scandinavian and Germanic pagans (or “heathens” as they often prefer to be known) observe Yuletide/Winter Solstice as their New Year.

    Rev. Kathy – I know you haven’t met me yet, but I’m one of the Mystic Grove pagans at FUCO. 😀

    • revkathys says:

      Thank you for the correction. I apologize for being careless with that. Although I was planning to make comments Sunday about the diversity of traditions, I will make them more clearly with this input. Getting input like this is one of the things I hoped would make this blog useful. (Hope to meet you soon!)

  2. tlh215 says:

    Oh, and I do apologize – I forgot to sign my name to my comment. I’m Tracie Holladay. I live in Winter Park with my beloved man Joe Wilke. Any of the Mystic Grove people will know who we are. I was going to attend services today but I overslept – we slept poorly last night because of some personal stresses. Maybe post the text of your sermon on FUCO’s page somewhere, so those of us who missed it can read it?

    Your questions in this entry are going to strike a return entry out of me. There’s a lot of great pagan information I could write in response to this. I’ll get a link to you as soon as I get it written.

    Have a great week!

    😀

  3. Pingback: Ancestral Ways | On Holladay Florida Style

Leave a Reply

