So Many Fun Things

I love the opening lines of the original Winnie-the-Pooh book by A. A. Milne.  They read:

Here is Edward Bear, coming downstairs now, bump, bump, bump, on the back of his head, behind Christopher Robin. It is, as far as he knows, the only way of coming downstairs, but sometimes he feels that there really is another way, if only he could stop bumping for a moment and think of it.

I have had times in life when I thought I knew exactly how Edward Bear (aka Winnie-the-Pooh) felt.  I thought of these lines recently because my days have been quite full.  The interesting thing is that this time the lines did not seem to fit.  A better fit seems to be a piece of wisdom I have often quoted to others:

You can only do so many fun things at one time.

The Edward Bear quote fit when the bumping was caused by things I didn’t choose and, given a choice, wouldn’t choose.  Now, my days are full of things I want to do.  I am afraid that when it comes to making choices, I am a bit like Pooh, in Chapter 2.

Pooh always liked a little something at eleven o’clock in the morning, and he was very glad to see Rabbit getting out the plates and mugs; and when Rabbit said, “Honey or condensed milk with your bread?” he was so excited that he said, “Both,” and then, so as not to seem greedy, he added, “But don’t bother about the bread, please.”

And so, I find I am tending to add more to my days than I can possibly accomplish.  It is a good problem to have, too many fun things to do.  However, just as Pooh’s choices caused him to plump up around the middle and get stuck trying to leave Rabbit’s hole, I fear my habits will get me in a tight spot.

So, I am trying to be more discerning about my choices.  After all, it was just last Sunday that I said from the pulpit that our choices matter.  Perhaps, it is a little funny that I am having trouble with choices, however it is not really surprising.   After all, “they” say that ministers preach the sermons that they need to hear.

This entry was posted in Life's Challenges. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to So Many Fun Things

  1. rachel gardiner says:

    I love this! Unfortunately, I feel that I am in the “bump, bump, bump” stage of my life still… trying to see my way through to another way. Good to at least see it through your eyes at the moment.

  2. Perhaps ministers also preach the sermons their 20-something year old daughters need to hear, as well. ;O)

  3. Dave Shine says:

    Not pertinent to the post, but I have share my favorite Pooh quote:

    Piglet: What’s the first thing you think of when you wake up in the morning
    Pooh: What’s for breakfast? What’s the first thing you think of?
    Piglet: I wander what exciting thing will happen today.
    Pooh: It’s the same thing.

  4. Ross Payne says:

    Choices indeed. When we go about life without cramming too much into our days, it’s much nicer. There are 20 things I thought would be interesting and/or fun to do this weekend. Probably will do 5 of them.

  5. Pingback: Sunday Selections | Roughing It

Leave a Reply

