Inching toward Equality

If I tell you what I did today, you might think I spend all of my time “downtown.”  This would be an inaccurate perception.  Since my last blog entry a week ago, I have had 17 church-related meetings or events, plus a New Member series, and a worship service.  Sounds a little like confession, I suppose.

However, today, I went to the Orange County Commission meeting where they passed the Human Rights Ordinance (HRO) that inches our LGBT community closer to full equality.  This particular vote protects lesbian, gay, bi-sexual, and transgender folks in Orange County from discrimination in employment, public accommodations, and housing.

As I understand it, the HRO has been in the works for a long time, but just recently got real traction.  Supporters arrived today confident of success.  The room was filled with people, including a number of public officials, wearing red, the color of support.  I counted at least 5 other members of the congregation.  When the time for public comment came, nineteen people were signed up to speak — all of them in support.  (More info at Equality Florida Blog)

While there is still much work to do to achieve full equality, it is heartening how gatherings such as this are tilting more and more toward a tone that assumes that equality is a broadly shared goal.

My congratulations to the organizations and individuals who have worked so long and so hard to make this day a reality!

This entry was posted in Central Florida, Current Events, Diversity. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

