Feeling Left Out – For Reflection

When do you feel out of place? What makes you feel like you do not belong?

I invite yJustice & Peace Heartou to a day of reflection on these questions.

#30DaysOfLoveAndReflection – Day 2, January 20, 2015

Introduction to 30 Days of Love and Reflection


My Reflection:

I feel out of place when I do not know what is expected of me or what is likely to happen. I like to “do the right thing” and since that is often situational, it is discomforting to me to not understand my context.

My discomfort is often really fear based. I worry about what will happen if I make a mistake. I worry about what people will think of me. My discomfort often remains until I make some connections with people who can help understand, or who I know will accept me for who I am, even when I don’t do the right thing.

This entry was posted in 30 Days of Love and Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Feeling Left Out – For Reflection

  1. Dayle Steakley says:

    I feel out of place when I don’t put my energies into a situation. So is my feeling out of place my own doing rather than my environment affecting me? Could be.
    Dayle Steakley

  2. Nancy Wileden says:

    I feel out of place when I am the new person in a situation or group. Growing up as an Army brat, I changed schools often, but the experience of meeting new people has never become easier for me. At my age it seems silly to still be worried about fitting in, but it is a hard habit to break. On the plus side, it has allowed me to be more sensitive to others who may be feeling like “the new kid”.

  3. saydge74 says:

    Interestingly, when you posted about what makes you feel like home, I thought “people.” It doesn’t matter where I am, if I connect with someone, it makes it feel like home. It doesn’t matter if it’s another UU church, a UCC church, or even a Catholic Church (my religious upbringing). If I connect with someone, even with a smile, I feel more and more at home. So the reverse is true here. I feel alone and left out when I feel that I can’t connect with anyone at all. It only takes one person to connect with to avoid that feeling.

Leave a Reply

