Including Another – For Reflection

What steps can you take, today, to help another person feel at home, included, like they belong?

I invite you Justice & Peace Heartto a day of reflection on this question.

#30DaysOfLoveAndReflection – Day 3, January 21, 2015

Introduction to 30 Days of Love and Reflection


My Reflection:

Reflection on this question prompted me to be a better listener today. In the course of the day, there were several times when, instead of jumping into engaged conversation in my extroverted way, I stopped to notice that someone was sharing something important with me. I stopped talking, by which I mean I held back from adding my own clever anecdotes to the exchange. I shut my mouth. Doing this really focused my attention on the true message of my conversation partner. While I know that this caused me to feel more deeply connected, I hope it created a feeling of full acceptance on the part of the speaker.

This entry was posted in 30 Days of Love and Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Including Another – For Reflection

  1. George Hooper says:

    One step, perhaps a new year’s resolution, is to resolve that each of us will take a few minutes to chat with visitors who come to our social hour. No one should be left standing alone.

  2. Dayle Steakley says:

    During our centennial year I made a commitment to introduce myself to 100 people. I even kept records in a little notepad in my purse. Some Sundays it was very hard, others not so much. I gave up counting before I reached 100 but it is now second nature for me to look around for a guest, new member or even someone who looks lonely or sad with whom to strike up a conversation.

Leave a Reply

