Planning the Day – For Reflection

e e cummings wrote:

 I arise in the morning torn
between a desire to improve the world
and a desire to enjoy the world.
This makes it hard to plan the day.

How do you plan your day?Justice & Peace Heart

I invite you to a day of reflection on this question.

#30DaysOfLoveAndReflection – Day 4

Introduction to 30 Days of Love and Reflection


My Reflection

Over time I have discovered how much joy there is to be found in doing things which improve the world. This makes the dilemma that e e cummings points out a little less pointed. Still, there are times when hard things have to get done, even if they aren’t enjoyable. In those cases, I try to at least find them rewarding.

As far as a focus on enjoyment goes, I do find that I have to make time for me and my relationships. If I don’t, we get lost in the never ending list of good or important things to be done. Fortunately, I find I am often easily amused and it does not take much to remind me of life’s joys and its blessings. So I find that even if I am not deliberately working to improve the world, I increasingly try to be aware lest my enjoyment actually do harm.

This entry was posted in 30 Days of Love and Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

