Hopelessness – For Reflection

When you encounter another person who seems to be without hope, what is your response?

Justice & Peace HeartI invite you to a day of reflection on this question.

#30DaysOfLoveAndReflection – Day 9

Introduction to 30 Days of Love and Reflection


My Reflection

When I encounter another person who seems to be without hope, my response depends on my relationship with the person and my feelings of responsibility toward them. It also depends on my own state of mind and heart.

Too often, I think my response is to try to fix the person by minimizing their situation or offering perspective that makes it seem more manageable. Sometimes this is driven by compassion for the person, but it can also be driven by my own need not to share their hopelessness.

Sometimes, if I do not feel a strong sense of responsibility, and especially if my own state of heart and mind is not resilient, I turn away from the person. While this can sometimes be a healthy choice or an act of self-preservation, I think it is too often a simple avoidance of discomfort.

At my best, in the absence of any tangible support of offer, I try simply to offer the gift of presence. This may provide a sounding board for working out their own issues. It may simply help them know they are not alone.

I’d like to be more comfortable being present in the face of hopelessness so that I could more fully honor to breadth of the human experience.

This entry was posted in 30 Days of Love and Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hopelessness – For Reflection

  1. I listen well and find something to validate them.

  2. saydge74 says:

    I’m hearing “The Invitation,” by Oriah Mountain Dreamer.

Leave a Reply

