Serenity – For Reflection

The Serenity Prayer says:
Grant me
the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
the courage to change the things I can,
and
the wisdom to know the difference.

What could you use more of: serenity, courage, or wisdom?

Justice & Peace HeartI invite you to a day of reflection on this question.

#30DaysOfLoveAndReflection – Day 10

Introduction to 30 Days of Love and Reflection


My Reflection

I have to say I would like more wisdom.

I have always loved the Serenity Prayer and consider it to be about balance in life. While there are times when I could use more serenity and times when I could use more courage, it is the lack of wisdom, or rather the uncertainty about wisdom, that causes me stress. At times like this I feel like I can’t find the right balance.

If something obviously needs serenity, I’m pretty good with that. Increasingly, I find I can be courageous when that is clearly what is called for. Where I get tangled up is when I can’t decide what the moment requires. Am I practicing serenity, or am I avoid a situation? Am I being brave, or am I meddling in something better left along? Does my action matter? Can I change this… or not? The indecision can be paralyzing. Since I would so much rather be serene or brave, than paralyzed, the thing I would like more of is wisdom.

This entry was posted in 30 Days of Love and Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Serenity – For Reflection

  1. Wisdom: take time to reflect on my wisdom across the years and to listen for the wisdom of others. Snap decisions need patience…

Leave a Reply

