Barriers – For Reflection

The 13th Century Sufi Poet Rumi said
Your task is not to seek for love, but merely to seek and find all the barriers within yourself that you have built against it.

What barriers do you have within you? What barriers keep you from the fullest expression of love?

Justice & Peace HeartI invite you to a day of reflection on these questions.

#30DaysOfLoveAndReflection – Day 14

Introduction to 30 Days of Love and Reflection


My Reflection

My first thought as to what keeps me from the fullest expression of love is fear. I fear looking foolish or becoming vulnerable so I hide behind barriers of calm reserve. I don’t express feelings. I don’t expose my tender side. This is counterproductive because another fear I have is disappointing people. I suspect I am more likely to disappoint more people by holding back emotions. I am less likely to be in authentic relationship when a wall separates me from the other.

I think another thing that keeps me from expressions of love is cluelessness. When I don’t understand other people because of cultural, generational, or other differences, I suspect I miss cues as to when the opportunity for a heart connection is possible. Perhaps someone has a need I could meet with an open heart but I do not detect their yearning. Perhaps I pass by an moment of connections because I do not recognize the gift being offered.

This entry was posted in 30 Days of Love and Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Barriers – For Reflection

  1. This is a new way to reflect…I will be on this path for a while.

Leave a Reply

