The Company of Others – For Reflection

Zora Neale Hurston (U.S. writer, 1903-1960) wrote:
Sometimes I feel discriminated against, but it does not make me angry. It merely astonishes me. How can they deny themselves the pleasure of my company? It’s beyond me.

Who denies themselves the pleasure of your company? Whose company do you deny yourself the pleasure of? 

Justice & Peace Heart

I invite you to a day of reflection on these questions.

#30DaysOfLoveAndReflection – Day 18

Introduction to 30 Days of Love and Reflection


My Reflection

It keeps coming back to fear, though I don’t always name it that. I don’t think I discriminate because of a negative judgment of other people. I think I hang back or avoid because of a negative judgment of my own coping skills. What if I don’t understand what they are saying? What if I say something clueless? I don’t want to offend someone else or embarrass myself. And yet… and yet…. I also know better. The risk of engagement is the more life giving choice. I will only learn to listen…to understand… to respond, if I engage. It saddens me to realize that sometimes own discomfort will be perceived as about another person. I commit to moving past my needless boundaries going forward.

This entry was posted in 30 Days of Love and Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Company of Others – For Reflection

  1. Oh, I love her remark…I’ll think this in the future! Somehow I have morphed into giving people tons of slack; as a result I have more serenity. Everybody has choices.

Leave a Reply

