Liberation – For Reflection

Ban Ki-moon (Secretary-General of the United Nations since 2007) wrote:
Defeating racism, tribalism, intolerance and all forms of discrimination will liberate us all, victim and perpetrator alike.

How does the end of discrimination toward people different from yourself help to liberate you?

Justice & Peace Heart

I invite you to a day of reflection on this question.

#30DaysOfLoveAndReflection – Day 26

Introduction to 30 Days of Love and Reflection


My Reflection

My vision of the world as is should be assumes the full equality of all people in terms of legal standing and social acceptance. To the degree that such equality is not present I am deprived of the opportunity to live in the world of my dreams.  This seems like such a selfish way to way to frame it… but that’s what the questions asked. I cannot be fully at peace until all people have justice. I would like to believe that I am motivated to work for justice for unselfish reasons, out of deeply held convictions and compassions for others. I think I usually am but it is interesting to see how I benefit too. I wonder if there is some part of my brain that will respond to this and help me to dig deeper and to keep  going when the struggle seems daunting.

This entry was posted in 30 Days of Love and Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Liberation – For Reflection

  1. I feel my transformation in my body and have been told that I give out an energy of warm affirming openess. This is what I think happens to others. Kindness easily follows.

Leave a Reply

