Love – For Reflection

Our 30(ish) Days of Love and Reflection run from MLK Day to Valentine’s Day, so today we end with a quote on love from The Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., who said:

Power without love is reckless and abusive, and love without power is sentimental and anemic. Power at its best is love implementing the demands of justice, and justice at its best is power correcting everything that stands against love.

How will you use your power and love in the service of justice?

Justice & Peace Heart

I invite you to a day of reflection on this question.

#30DaysOfLoveAndReflection – Day 27 (a final post)

Introduction to 30 Days of Love and Reflection


My Reflection

I like this quote because I think power gets a bad rap. Because we are all too familiar with the misuse of power, we sometimes forget that we can and must use power for good – for love and justice.

I have found that a month of daily reflections on the themes of love and justice, difference and belonging, have focused by attention on what is needed in the world today in a new way. It’s not that I wasn’t aware of the issues before, it’s just that by keeping them more “in my face” and therefore in my heart and mind, the pervasiveness of the issues and the challenges before us have become more apparent. Curiously, I am also more optimistic. I think that I am also perceiving an increasing willingness in our community and in our nation to talk about race, inequality, poverty, and so many other issues that intersect with these. My commitment is to use my power to foster these conversations and to empower others to help bend the arc of the universe toward justice.

This entry was posted in 30 Days of Love and Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

