Call to Prayer

Jetlag and excitement provided me the opportunity to hear the first Muslim Call to Prayer of the day (at 3:40 am, an hour and 20 minutes before sunrise). Our room has a Qur’an and a prayer rug. On the plane there was a safety notice asking people to remain seated during their prayers. I find I admire the Muslim practice of praying five times daily, which seems to me to create physical reminders throughout the day of what is truly important. While I would hope all my actions would be guided by my values, it is all too human to loose track of our good intentions and I can appreciate a discipline that calls us back to mindfulness.

This entry was posted in Africa, Diversity, Theology, Worship. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

