CF100: 2016 10 02 – Debates & More Debates

Each week, the Orlando Sentinel asks two questions of 100 community leaders in Central Florida. Those with access to the online Sentinel can read all of this week’s 100-word responses when there are published online,  usually late Saturday. For those without access, my responses are below. Selected responses appear in the Sunday print edition.

What was the biggest story of the week?

Attending the Sentinel’s debate watch party at Valencia allowed me to get a little more outside my own political bubble than when I watch at home or with folks I know shares my perspective. The panel speaking before and after was well chosen to represent differing perspectives. Since the audience in the actual debate hall was to remain silent, it was fun to experience reaction. I was startled when two people clapped at one candidate’s bringing up an issue I consider tired. I felt hope when others groaned at the same things that made me sigh. Interesting community perspective.

What will be the biggest story in the coming week?

Last week, I had the privilege of sitting attending a round table discussion with Tim Kaine in Orlando hosted by the National Latino Evangelical Coalition (NaLEC) (Invitations were made to both major party campaigns.) While the topics discussed were those of particular interest to the Latino and Evangelical communities, they are also important to the broader conversation. I was impressed by Senator Kaine’s ability to address issues in their complexity and quite jealous of his ability to switch smoothly between Spanish and English. I look forward with hope to a substantive debate between Senator Kaine and Governor Pence on Tuesday.


The series focuses on state and local news.

Read the Sentinel’s introduction to the series

Read my first post on the series.

My posts related to this can be found using the categories in the right sidebar. Click either Central Florida or Current Events.

This entry was posted in Central Florida, Current Events, Diversity, Election, Environmental Issues and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

